About that Social Media Jones

Ok, it’s been awhile.  If I didn’t spend 3-4 hours every night with my face stuck in Twitter, Facebook, and the trails they lead me down, I’d write more.

At my association’s chapter meeting today, we had my friend Tony Dye presenting his pretty deliberate thoughts on Social Media.  We have been pleased and privileged to have Tony as a regular presenter for our group.  Today, Tony explored with us some good arguments, both for and against, wholesale use of social media by churches.  It stimulated a lot of good discussion and questions.

I came away from it with two main thoughts – it’s not the be-all and end-all for communicating in our arena, and we are missing something if we don’t also use Twitter, Facebook and the like to complement the channels we’ve always used.  Any casual study of churches today makes one see that young adults are not showing up.  The good news is there is some evidence we may have figured out what we need to do to engage this set.  It is clear to me a primary way for us to let them know is via social media.  Most of them will see it if we do.

The biggest gain for me as I have explored social media is the trails leading to really bright and energetic people.  One of them is a fellow who has written a book called “Why Churches must Twitter.”  I plan to get this soon as I can figure out the PayPal thing.  Another place that I can send you with good conscience is Mashable – take a look at this host of people you might want to follow.

Tags: ,

One Response to “About that Social Media Jones”

  1. mickmel Says:

    I agree with your overall assessment — it was an excellent presentation. We came away with a number of things to think about and/or try out.

    One thing that’s surprising me is the age range of users on these services. According to Nielsen, the largest group on Twitter isn’t teens or 20’s, but is 35-49:
    http://tinyurl.com/dd9arz

    I think you summed it up best — these tools are important for churches to start using, but they can’t bail on their current means of communications.

Leave a Reply

